Life of a Student.

The End of Uni, The End of an Era.

As I said in my introductory post, my time of studying at university is coming to an end, and I’m not going to lie it’s quite an emotional experience. The past three years of being at Canterbury seem to have flown by, in all honesty with how fast the time has passed it sometimes feels like I’ve been here for just three months as opposed to have started nearly three years ago.

Finding out that I had got into CCCU, my dream university and the one I had been aspiring to gain a place at since around the age of 15, was without a doubt one of the best days of my life, and one I will certainly never forget. It was such an exciting, nerve-racking, life-changing experience, one that I had some sort of idea of what to expect, but at the same time, after arriving, it was so different to my speculations, and was most definitely so much more than what I had been expecting. I will admit that the first few months of moving away from home and into student accommodation, getting used to endless readings and essay deadlines that had to be structured in such a different way to what had been expected of me at A Level and living with complete strangers, at times I felt like I wouldn’t be able to cope with it all, and I think there were even times when I wondered if maybe I shouldn’t have bothered going to university at all. Looking back now and at how far I’ve come since those scary first months of being an independent young adult, I am so glad that I pushed through the daunting side of it all and began to enjoy the experience of it all.

There is no doubt about it that the past few years have been some of the best of my life. I have learnt so much about what I want to do in life, and after many years going back and forth on what I want to be when I ‘grow up’, coming to university has finally helped me make my mind up in what direction I want to take. Through studying English I have been introduced to so many new styles of novels and authors that I would never have read before if it hadn’t been for studying them, and yes while at times it’s been difficult to get all of my required reading done, I’ve loved reading the majority of them and I know they will be part of my book collection for many years to come.

It’s not just the educational side of life that university has introduced me to. If anything, what university has helped me do the most, is grow up. I am a completely different person to the one I was when I first arrived here. I came to university as an 18 year old fresher; nervous and scared of what was to come, shy of meeting and talking to new people and getting her voice heard. Now I’m a 21 year old near graduate; still worried about what life will be like after leaving the comforting and reassuring world of university, but more confident in talking with people I don’t know that well, not afraid to get her voice heard, and most of all, independent.

As stressful as the past few years have been (particuarly at the moment with the dreaded ‘D’ word), it has been one hell of an amazing experience, and one that I would not change for the world.

Leave a Reply

