Films

Rockin’ Audiences into the 1960s – The Boat That Rocked (2009)

As I am sitting here typing away my latest post for you lovely people who actually bother to read my blog, I am watching one of my favourite films of all time on DVD, The Boat That Rocked (2009). When I saw it in the cinema during the Easter holidays over four years ago with one of my old friends from school, I fell in love with it almost immediately. What was there not to love really? It combined three of my favourite things: film, music, and the 1960s. It embodies everything that I love about that era, and reminds me, and probably many others of you out there who are fans of the film, why I wish that I could build a time machine just to go back to this amazing decade. Even if it was for only one day, it would be simply a dream come true to experience what it was like to live during the swinging sixties.

The film is so authentic in it’s attempt of taking the audience back to the 1960s that while you are watching, you become so absorbed that you forget you are in the 21st century and the year 2013, and instead you feel as if you have been transported from the comfort of your sofa to the pirate radio stations of the decade that loved to rock. It is a real time travel experience, one that is made through the very simple use of a number of techniques used by the film makers. Every detail of the film is creative and true to what it would have been like back in the 1960s, no stone seems to have been left unturned in making this production as authentic and correct to real life as possible.

Of course, being only 21/nearly 22 years old, I was not around to experience life in this decade, but from what I have seen, and of course heard about this time, they seem to have covered it beautifully and perfectly in The Boat That Rocked. The hairstyles, the clothes, the style of clothes, the way the characters speak and act, what they talk about, and of course, one of the main themes of the film, the music, all come together like pieces of a jigsaw to make this masterpiece come together and portray all the fun of the fair that took place during this age. I feel for those who like the film that, like me, were not lucky enough to experience the wonders of this now legendary age, writer of the film Richard Curtis has given us the opportunity to see what it was like to feel and love the music that has come to define this era.

For those of you who have seen the film, and know the history of the pirate radio stations that played a massive role in how audiences in the UK accessed the latest music of the time will know that the fictional pirate radio station, Radio Rock, was largely based on actual British pirate station, Radio Caroline. The funny thing is that, as my Dad has just informed me, is that today (14th August 2013) marks the anniversary of the British Government banning pirate radios from broadcasting, and making their broadcasting music to the public illegal. It’s quite funny that I felt compelled to watch The Boat That Rocked without even knowing this fact, but after having not given it a watch for almost two years it has been great to re-acquaint myself with one of my all time favourite films, one that makes me even more envious of those that got to live through and experience the swinging sixties first hand. Who knows if time travel will ever happen, we may never know. But if it does, I think I know where I will be using my time machine to visit. For now though, I will just have to watch this great film that takes me back to a time I never got to live through, but thanks to The Boat That Rocked, at least I can dream!

Leave a Reply

