Television

Unpopular Opinion – The Big Bang Theory.

So, this is my second post of the day. Don’t you lovely people reading this feel lucky? That was a rhetorical question by the way, please don’t feel the need to comment or message me about whether you feel lucky or not that I have posted two articles on my blog in one day. I do digress, back to the point of my writing this latest post for you all. It is something that a lot of you out there will probably find annoying, even make you mad if you are that much of a dedicated fan of what it is that I am going to talk about (not like the title of this post is a massive clue or anything, but that isn’t the point), but I promise you that I mean no offence, and I am not dismissing your opinion, I am simply expressing my own on this subject. It is probably going to be quite an unpopular opinion that I am about to write about, but here goes nothing. My unpopular opinion is: I am not a fan of The Big Bang Theory.

I know so many friends of mine who are massive fans of this programme that has taken our television channels by storm in recent years and whose popularity has continued to grow on both sides of the pond at a fast rate. As many of you will know that reguarly watch the television channel E4, The Big Bang Theory makes daily and regular appearances on this channel, and has become a strong audience viewing appearance amongst viewers of E4 everyday. Since the US success hit our screens with a bang back in 2009/2010 (I may be wrong with these dates, but I can’t find a good source that says the exact year The Big Bang Theory started being aired here in the UK), so many viewers across the country have become completely enamoured with this show, and truly taken it to their hearts. For me though, I have just never been able to get into it. It is not like I have never tried to either. It was definitely not one of those shows that I saw the advert for and thought “oh no, I don’t like the look of that, I will be giving that a miss”. In fact, when I first saw the advert announcing the arrival of the programme to British shores, I didn’t really take much notice of it, as bad as that sounds. When it eventually began airing on television, I gave it a few tries, watching an episode here and there as, me being me, I kept forgetting that it was on and when it was being shown. Every now and again I have watched an episode here and there if I come across it while endlessly flicking through channels and not being able to find anything to watch, and this has occurred even in recent months, particuarly when revising for my final exams at uni. Unfortunately though, I just can’t quite grasp it. For me, it doesn’t entertain me or keep me gripped as to what is going to happen next, and its humour just isn’t what I usually find funny.

Of course, one of the main subjects that is part of The Big Bang Theory is its continuous references and humour based around science. Some people have even gone as far as saying that it has been specifically made for people who are interested in science, and who know a lot about this topic. In some cases, this is true, as I know quite a few people who used to go to my school/sixth form who studied and loved science and who have even gone onto study a science based subject at university, and they are completely obsessed with The Big Bang Theory and find it absolutely hilarious. I know a number of other people on the other hand though, that are big fans of the programme, find it extremely funny and entertaining, but do not have a great interest in science. It’s quite funny really to see that some people say to me that I don’t find it funny because I am not majorly interested in science and therefore cannot understand the humour, but I personally do not feel this has got anything to do with, especially when on the few occassions I have attempted to try and get into the show, I have understood what the characters are talking about with their jokes about science based topics, I just haven’t personally found them funny.

I love comedy television programmes, including the likes of Friends, How I Met Your Mother, and classic British comedy shows, such as Fawlty Towers, Blackadder, The Royle Family and Gavin & Stacey, but The Big Bang Theory has never done anything for me in terms of making me laugh, and keeping me entertained. Maybe one day, if I keep trying, I may suddenly find myself laughing at what everyone else seems to find hilarious. But for now, I think I am going to have to admit that I am well and truly outnumbered in not being a fan of The Big Bang Theory.

2 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinion – The Big Bang Theory.

  1. That’s ok, I have never been a fan of Seinfeld. (which was hugely popular) I think it is a ridiculous show. I do like The Big Bang Theory, however. I’m a star trek fan and that got me started on it and then it grew on me. I love the weird/nerdiness of Sheldon and the guys. We can’t like everything.

    1. That is true, we can’t like everything, I guess if we all liked the same things and had the same opinion on everything it would make for a pretty boring world. Thank you for reading, and thank you for your comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

