Books

A Street Cat Named Bob – A Review.

I recently finished A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen. I had heard a lot of people rave about it and always say what a wonderful read it is, so while making a trip to my local Waterstones in my university hometown of Canterbury, I decided to purchase this book, feeling enticed by how many people had said they had read it and loved it, as well as by the picture on the front cover of one of the most beautiful cats I had ever seen, this cat of course being the one and only Bob. I felt excited about reading this book, not just because of what I had heard from others, but also that, as the title clearly indicates, it is about the life of a cat and how he befriends the books author, James Bowen. As a massive cat lover, I could not resist the chance to read about Bob’s story, and I soon got stuck into my latest read.

Those who had read A Street Cat Named Bob before me whom said how brilliant it was were not over exaggerating. From the second I turned onto the first page and read the first word, I was hooked. With a lot of books I read, as much as I love the majority of them, I always find something, even if it is just the tiniest of detail that I find to criticise. I don’t know if that came with the territory of having to critically analyse and discuss an endless pile of books while studying English at university, but its a habit that I have developed as I have grown up and began reading more. With this particular text though, I found nothing to be critical about. It is, quite simply, the perfect book.

The tales of James Bowen and his faithful feline friend Bob bring every emotion under the sun with the turn of every page. Tales of joy and laughter, of the uncontrollable and spontaneous nature of a cat that those who own a pet cat know only too well, that just feel the reader with warmth and you can’t help but laugh out loud. Other tales of the dangerous world on the streets of London that at times bring a threat to James and Bob, with certain events unfolding that make you as a reader feel anxious to know how things pan out, and desperately wanting to know if both James and Bob will be all okay in the end. It is during these points in the book that I actually had butterflies in my stomach. I couldn’t believe how tense and anxious such times during reading A Street Cat Named Bob made me, and I don’t think that has ever happened to me before while reading a book. The biggest emotion though that I felt while reading was just the utter warmth it gave me through reading. To read of how the two came together on the perilous streets of London, and to see them bond and their relationship grow, is one of the most beautiful things that you could ever read about. It really does make you feel so uplifted, and able to see the positive of the world around you a hell of a lot more. That a human and a cat, both essentially strays on the street, come together and grow a friendship that I doubt is even possible between two humans, makes it one of the most beautiful books that I have ever owned and read.

I would highly recommend that all you cat and book lovers out there that have not got round to reading this amazing tale that you get o it and read it immediately. You will love the honesty, the love, the happiness, and the pure emotion of it all. You won’t regret it, but you will regret it f you don’t read it ASAP. I can guarantee, that by the end of the A Street Cat Named Bob, you will feel as though James Bowen and Bob are your life long friends. Remember people, cats make as good a best friends as dogs do, and this book really does prove that.

Leave a Reply

