Diary of an Unemployed Graduate

Diary of an Unemployed Graduate – Day 1

For those of you that read my blog reguarly (if any of you actually do), you may know that I graduated from university a few months ago. I graduated with a combined degree in English with Media and Cultural Studies, with the hopes and dreams of becoming a journalist, in particualar a film or music journalist. A short while ago, I came up with a new idea for my writing here on my blog, and I thought it might be a good idea to write regular posts on here about my journey as being a graduate and trying to find my way into the world of work. I have a lot of feelings about what I am going through at the moment and have been in the months since I finished the education stage of my life, and sometimes I find the best way to express these feelings I have is to write them down. I have a great group of people around me who I can talk to on a regular basis about everything that is going on in my life where looking for work is concerned, but sometimes I feel better about everything by writing it all down, and of course having this blog seems like the ideal way of doing so. I will try and post in this section of the blog, which will be called Diary of an Unemployed Graduate, at least once a week. It may be more than that, it may be less than that, it all depends on if anything is going on in this part of my life and how much time I have to come on here and update you all. So here goes, Day 1 of Diary of an Unemployed Graduate is coming your way…now!

Today is Tuesday 17th September 2013. I guess it is a bit of a random date to start something like this, but when I get an idea in my head I have to get on with it there and then, so that explains to you why I have chosen such a random day and date to start this new part of my blog. I guess this week also holds significance as in five days it will be my 22nd birthday. That’s right, I’m going to be 22, and I still don’t have a job. It doesn’t sound like much of a big deal, but I don’t know why, but it is really getting to me. I have been feeling a bit down and out about the whole job seeking situation for a couple of months now, but since the beginning of September and the start of the countdown to my birthday it has been affecting me a lot more. With the current climate that our economy is in, and jobs being ever more difficult to come across and get into, it is no surprise that I have been finding it such a task in finally getting my foot in the door of the career that I have been working towards for the past three years. But no matter how many times people tell you that thousands of other people are in the same situation that you’re in, and how much you remind yourself of this fact, it still feels like a kick in the stomach everytime I think about being nearly 22 and still not being close to getting to where I want to be.

Randomly enough, while thinking of what I could write for my first post of this blog diary, I remembered a history lesson I had when I was in year 8 or 9 at secondary school, I can’t quite remember what year it was. It was during this lesson that we were asked to write down where we saw ourselves in so many years. I was 13 or 14 years old at the time, and I think we were asked about our thoughts on where we would be by the time we were 25. I remember writing that I would have liked to have finished university, which of course I have now done, and that I would be working in the media (I didn’t know at the time that I wanted to be a journalist of some sort). Now I know that you’re most likely thinking that “I’m not 25 yet, I am only just about to turn 22 and there is still plenty of time to find a job”, but the reason why I am using this as an example is that when you’re younger, you think that everything is going to be handed to you on a plate. You think because you go easily from primary school, to secondary school, to college or sixth form, to university, straight into work. If only it was as simple as this. I think if I had a time machine I would definitely go back to my 13 year old self and warn her that life isn’t as easy as making a list and jumping from one thing to the next. Life isn’t quite that simple.

To think that around eight years ago I thought that I would jump straight into a job after doing years of education, and now I have actually finished university I am constantly struggling to find work goes to show that life is never as simple as we hope it to be when we’re younger. While my 13 or 14 year old self dreamt of by now being in a high flying career, my actual 21 nearly 22 year old self is still sitting around waiting for her career to start. As depressing as I am apparently finding it that I will be celebrating my 22nd birthday while still being unemployed, I will try my best to see the positives. As I wrote earlier, there are thousands of young people in the UK in the same position as me in trying desperately to find work after finishing uni, it’s not like I’m the only one going through all of this anguish that I’ve been experiencing lately. It also isn’t the end of the world. As bleak as I’m feeling about the whole job situation at the moment, and how I have no idea where I will be in the next few months and can’t see what my next step in life is going to be, I know that with perseverance, determination and hard work I will get to where I want to be. Things do take time, so who knows what tomorrow will bring.

2 thoughts on “Diary of an Unemployed Graduate – Day 1

  1. Don’t blame the 13 year old in you, we were all told throughout life that if we go through the education system then there’s a job at the end a-GCSE, A Level, degree, career. Sadly this still is being taught when clearly it’s a concept that died long ago. Good luck with the job hunt, happy birthday when it arrives and know that you’re not alone!

    1. I couldn’t agree more with you. Even when I was at university they were making it sound like the easiest task in the world to get into a job once our education was over, but like you say it’s a system that no longer exists. Thank you so much for reading and commenting, and thank you, it’s always nice to hear from others who are in a similar position to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

