Books

Billy and Me – A Review

A few months ago I read the now classic novel, One Day by David Nicholls, and it was a book that I fell in love with immediately. Well, almost anyway. It took me a few chapters to fall in love as it were with the story, but by the turning of the last page there was no doubt about it that I had fallen for the book hook, line and sinker, and it became my favourite book instantly. I didn’t think I would find another book that quite surpassed it, but then along came Billy and Me, and I don’t think I will ever be able to come to a conclusion of which I would choose out of the two as my all time favourite if anyone asked me to choose. Both books spoke to me in completely different ways. Obviously I didn’t associate with the protagonist of Billy and Me, Sophie, through her dating a famous actor that has every aspect of their life broadcast to the entire world, for the main reason being that I do not and never have been in a relationship with someone who is in the public eye, but there were so many other aspects of her character that I could relate to that I had gone through in my own life. I have never had a book speak to me in this manner, and I loved how just simply spot on author Giovanna Fletcher got the feelings that someone would go through in that situation. Because she has put so much feeling and emotion into the characters, not just Sophie but all of the characters the reader meets throughout the novel, you feel as though you are reading about real people. These aren’t just characters that don’t really exist and have been imagined out of Fletcher’s mind. They are real people, who have thoughts, feelings and histories. Quite simply, they are just like you and me, something which isn’t always found in every novel that you pick up. In all honesty, there were times when I had to remind myself that I wasn’t reading a piece of non fiction, that it was in fact all fiction. I think that just goes to show how good a book it is, that I became so absorbed with the plot and the characters that I thought it was about a real life situation as opposed to one that did not exist.

It is a beautifully written book, with so many unique references and a style that I have never come across before in any other book that I have read. It is without a doubt my favourite book I have read so far this year as well as having fast become one of my favourite reads. I may have only finished reading it but a few short weeks ago, but I already want to read it again. I am going to try and resist though for a few more months, I still have far too many books on my bookshelf that I have yet to read. Overall, I highly recommend this read if you are looking for something different that has all you want out of a romantic novel, but with a twist and something completely unique. Seriously, you don’t want to miss this one out. I demand you go and buy it, or if you have already done so but are yet to read it, then go do it now, right now! Happy reading people!

One thought on “Billy and Me – A Review

Leave a Reply

