Diary of an Unemployed Graduate

Diary of an Unemployed Graduate – Day 23.

First off, I would like to apologise for not doing a post for the past two weeks as I said I would in my original post for this section three weeks ago. I have been extremely busy, doing what I’m not quite sure but the past few weeks see to have flown by. I’m not sure if its a good thing that time has gone so quickly, but hey ho, time will come and go as it pleases. I do hope you can all forgive me for my lack of posting under this new section of my blog, and by the looks of things my calendar is pretty empty for the next few weeks, so I will try and get a new post up once a week like I originally intended to. So, here goes…

A lot has happened in the past few weeks in my job hunting quest. Around this time last month, so the beginning of September, things seemed to be looking up. After almost a year of searching for the perfect job or internship, I thought that maybe, just maybe, it was my turn to finally find the job I had been looking for, and my foot would well and truly be in the door of my future career. Just over a month ago, I received a phone call from a woman who worked for a company that I had applied for a couple of weeks earlier. This may sound terrible, but due to the fact that I have applied for so many jobs I am slowly losing track of what I have and haven’t applied for, so when I answered the phone, my mind was completely blank as to who was ringing me. The phone call though, was a promising one. The woman I spoke to said they were extremely interested in hiring me, saying that they were impressed by my degree in an English based degree, as well as the experience I had gained through various work experience I had done. The role sounded perfect for me, the perfect first job as a university graduate that would get me more experience, and get me started on the career I had spent my three years at university working towards. She said they were interested for me to start as soon as possible, and asked when I would be available to come in for a chat. It was a Friday that she rang, and I replied with telling her I was available from say the following Wednesday onwards. Having been told that it shouldn’t be a problem, the conversation ended with her telling me that I would be contacted at the beginning of the next week with all the information I would need for my interview. Sounds brilliant, doesn’t it? And so it would have been, if it had worked out to have been as amazing as it all started out as being.

As I said, this was a little over a month ago now, and I’m afraid to tell you that I never heard back about any interview information, so therefore the interview never took place, and I am very much back to square one. Again. I honestly do not know what happened, but it obviously just wasn’t meant to be. Not this time, anyway. It was a horrible feeling knowing that I had come so close,and yet, as quickly as it all started to look like something was about to happen, it was all taken away from me. I guess I shouldn’t have got my hopes up, because I will be honest, I did start to get a little bit excited inside that this may finally be the start of my career. The stepping stone that was so needed to get everything started. I should have learnt from my mistake of getting my hopes up too quickly, as a week or so later I found myself in a not so different situation. Shortly after the prospect of an interview, I received three emails from three different companies that I had applied for jobs/paid internships with, all of which told me that my applications were currently being short listed to be chosen by their recruitment team. Once again it seemed like good news was possibly heading my way. I will admit that once again I felt a tiny bit hopeful. Just a tiny bit though, I was making sure that I didn’t get as excited as I did about the phone call I had received the previous week. But, once more, as promising as these emails sounded, with one even saying that I was in the top perspective employees that a company were considering to be taking on for the paid internship I had applied for with them, they all turned out to not be the successes I had hoped they would have been. Oh isn’t being an unemployed graduate just wonderful?

Since these responses to jobs I had applied for, I haven’t heard much else from any other jobs. I got onto the second application stage of a paid graduate scheme with another company, but after failing the mathematics section (numbers are my weakness unfortunately) on the second stage, I unfortunately didn’t get any further with that particular application. So I’m very much back to square one again, and it really is not a nice feeling. As difficult as it is to try and stay positive about the whole job hunting business, I am looking at these near opportunities as the next step. Maybe I’m getting closer to getting somewhere after almost a year of applying? Maybe they were signs that my hard work of applying for endless jobs will soon pay off? Or, maybe I’m as far away as ever from finally getting somewhere? Will I still be finding myself in the same position that I’m in now when it comes to Christmas in a few months time, and further than that? Who knows. Only time will tell.

One thought on “Diary of an Unemployed Graduate – Day 23.

  1. If you get a call from a company promising an interview out of the blue always get as much detail about the person and contact details so you can follow it up if you don’t here from them.

Leave a Reply

