Diary of an Unemployed Graduate

Diary of an Unemployed Graduate – Day 139.

Disappointment. It’s a common word in our everyday lives. You could say that there are two kinds of disappointments in life. There are minor disappointments, and then the more major disappointments. Minor ones are the occurrences that may happen on a daily basis, maybe through being let down by something, or someone, but they aren’t so massively disappointing that they dramatically change the course of your life. Examples of such minor disappointments would be a friend cancelling plans you may have had right at the last minute, an event that you had been looking forward to for months being cancelled, or postponed, for whatever reason, or maybe even something ridiculously small as going to the cinema and finding that the film you really wanted to see is no longer being shown. They annoy you at the time, possibly even upset you, but after a matter of hours you are over it, and could have forgotten that it had ever happened. More prominent disappointments cause longer lasting effects on your everyday life, and the course of your life as a whole, perhaps even altering you forever. Things like getting fired from the job you’re in, not getting into the university of your first choice, maybe not even getting into university at all, failing important exams that could have a huge impact on the future of your education or career, the list could go on. They’re blips that can alter your life, whether for a short while, or for the long term. Everyone experiences some sort of disappointment at some point. That’s just part of life, but I think I can honestly say that I have never experienced more disappointment than during my time of job hunting.

Every time you take a certain amount of time out of your day to send your CV off for a job, or spend what feels like forever filling out an application form, and after all the time you have spent doing so, to never hear back from the company has got to be one of the most disheartening feelings you can experience while job hunting. As disappointing as receiving a rejection email is, I personally think that to not have any correspondence at all from the company that you have applied for, after spending such a long period of time making sure that every tiny detail of your application is perfect, to not hear a single thing back is ten times worse than getting an email saying that you aren’t right for the position.

As a lot of you will know that read this blog back in February, back in November after finally securing a three month internship, things came to a head after just two weeks, and along with two fellow writing interns, we were made to leave due to complete and utter miscommunication, as well as a number of other factors. After how many months of looking and the overwhelming excitement of finally getting somewhere, to have it all be taken away again was a huge let down. Along the way there have been a great deal of other disappointments, with the promise of interviews that then never end up taking place, being asked to do test pieces to getting onto the second stage of an application process, then being turned away and missing out on the chance of an interview, the list could probably go on. For me, one of the most disappointing experiences that have occurred has to be something that took place just a few weeks before the internship disaster took place.

Back in October, I applied for a freelance journalist position, that when applying for sounded absolutely perfect. It could be worked around another job if a full time position came along, I would only have to write a post whenever it best suited me and my schedule, and I would also be paid every time I submitted an article that was then published in the companies magazine, as well as on their website. All in all, pretty much a dream come true. After applying, receiving the news that I had gotten onto the second stage and had been asked to write a test piece, I sent off said test piece within the time limit that had been set, and about a week after submitting said piece, I got an email from the company about a telephone interview. The date and time was set, and I was ready to go. Said date and time came, and went. No telephone call. No email. No nothing. It wasn’t even as though I could contact them, as no phone number had been given. A week passed and I heard nothing, despite having emailed them, and I assumed that it wasn’t going to happen. It just hadn’t been meant to be.

This wasn’t the end of it though oh no. A week later, I received an email from the same company, and I do not think that I have ever been more confused in my life. The email I received was from a different member of the company to the one I had spoken to in the past, and said in her email that they had enjoyed speaking to me on the phone a week earlier, and that consequently they were offering me the position. You can imagine my confusion in being told that a manager of a company that they had enjoyed a phone call that had never even happened. The confusion didn’t stop there though, no no it was about to get a hell of a lot more confusing. As I continued to read, I found that everything I had been told in the application process, was basically one massive lie. As opposed to being a working from home position, paid with every article that was published, and would be done whenever it best suited me, I found that the role would require me to travel to events across London, this would have to be done on a regular basis, sometimes once or more a week, and to top it all off, no pay would be given whatsoever. No money for travel expenses would be given, no money for articles that were published as was promised in the application details, and pay would only be considered after six months of working there, and even then it wasn’t set in stone. Needless to say, I didn’t accept the position. Not only did I not want to work for a company that were ridiculously unreliable, but I also didn’t want to work for one that quite simply, lied.

Disappointments like the ones I’ve spoken about in this post are all too common place in the hunt for a job, but as often as these disappointments take place, you can’t let them get you down, you simply have to learn from them, and keep powering through them until you eventually get to where you want to be.

4 thoughts on “Diary of an Unemployed Graduate – Day 139.

  1. I have to agree with what you say about how not hearing back at all is worse than an outright rejection. There’s no way to prepare for disappointments like this and although you can move on, knowing that 99% of the applications you write will get no further is just another reason not to get up in the morning. Keep at it, keep the good music on and good luck 🙂

    1. I couldn’t agree with you more. Waking up every morning to emails of rejection, or no emails at all, really doesn’t help your motivation, and as you say it makes it difficult to get up in the morning. Thank you so much for reading and commenting, and for the good luck too! 🙂

  2. So basically that company wanted you to work for free!
    Jeez, sometimes I can’t believe the nerve of some of these places.

    1. Pretty much, yes! I found the way they went about it ridiculously sneaky, coming across as a paid position that wouldn’t require any travel in the application process, then when push comes to shove actually coming clean and telling said applicant that they won’t get any money, not even travel expenses when the role will require them to travel a lot, it’s just disgusting. It has made me so wary of applying for freelance positions, although I am sure not all of them will be the same as this particular one, but you can never be too careful. Thank you very much for reading and commenting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

