Films

Top 4 Films That Should Never, Ever Be Touched

As an avid film watcher and fan, there are a lot of classic films that are my absolute favourites, and that, in my personal opinion, should never ever be re-made. So combining my love of films with my love of making lists, here is my top 4 films that should be left well alone.

4. Jurassic Park (1993)
It may have celebrated its 20th anniversary last year, it may have been made in the early nineties, but I think it is a worthy owner if being one of the greatest films ever made. It has been one of my favourites since I was a child, contributing greatly to my obsession with dinosaurs that has gone on for basically my whole life. It may be slightly dated now compared to other films that are made today, but in a way it works, and I think it will still work on the 100th anniversary of its release. Even though the graphics of the dinosaurs aren’t anything special in today’s standards, they are just perfect; if anything, computer generated dinosaurs in TV and film today are OTT. Jurassic Park gets it just right, and if it was to ever be re-made, it would be over the top, completely Hollywood-ised rubbish. It would be a travesty if Jurassic Park was ever to be re-made, and would never be a patch on the original.

3. Star Wars Episodes 4-6 (1977-1983)
I still haven’t made my mind up about whether the Star Wars story being sold to Disney is going to be a good thing or not, so as a complete Star Wars addict I would have no idea how I would feel about the original three films being completely re-done. Episodes 4, 5 and 6 are classics because they’re classic. Now I don’t mind the latest films that were released around a decade ago (minus Episode I, I can’t bring myself to watch it), but they are nowhere as good as the original three released in the late 1970s and early 1980s. To have them ever re-done would be a crime against film. I don’t think much else needs to be said other than no. Just no.

2. Halloween (original series, 1978 – 2002)
I know there have already been remakes of the first two films, but even that makes me unnecessarily angry. The original films of the now classic horror series were perfect just as they were; they cannot be outdone. I understand and respect what Rob Zombie was trying to achieve with his remakes, and I respect that the original films creator, John Carpenter, gave his permission to Zombie to give the films his own stamp, but I personally am not a fan of the new versions released a few years ago. I prefer the plot of the original series, and find the newer versions too over exaggerated, ever so slightly over the top for my liking. With old Halloween, the films are simple, but the effect is all the more greater. They have authenticity, charm and appeal that the remakes for me do not have.

1. Jaws (1975)
There’s a reason why audiences didn’t want to go back in the water when Jaws was first released: it is terrifying. The concept of a higher power of nature going completely overboard and being practically uncontrollable is frightening viewing. As with Jurassic Park, the graphics of a robotic shark from the 1970s are somewhat dated now, let’s face it, as corny as some people see good old Bruce as being, the impact of a computer generated shark would be nowhere near as effective. Jaws has a real sense of authenticity to film lovers because of the decade it was produced in, and of how it was made, something that would be lost if Jaws were ever to be remade in this day and age.

You may of course have your own opinions, and you may disagree with my choices, but as with all of my posts, it’s just my personal opinion. There are most likely a lot more films that I could put under the category of not wanting them to be remade, but I don’t want to bore you all to tears… 🙂

Leave a Reply

