Diary of an Unemployed Graduate

Diary of an Unemployed Graduate – Day 190

I have just realised that three days ago marked six months since started my diary of being an unemployed graduate. That is crazy, and a bit scary at the same time. As much as I have enjoyed writing this section of my blog, I am a little bit disappointed that I am still in the position of searching for employment. Ideally, when I began writing on this part of my blog, I didn’t picture myself still looking for work six months later, but that is just life at the end of the day. We can’t control these things! Looking back over my posts from the past months, I’ve realised that all of my posts have been just me informing you about the goings on in my job hunt, as well as a number of rants about being an unemployed graduate. So this is something a bit different. Instead of moaning about various aspects of unemployment, I’m going to offer a bit of advice, some that may be helpful to those of you that are in a similar situation to myself, or for those of you that may be about to find yourself in the same position in the coming months. For all of you, here are my top five ways to make the most of your time as an unemployed graduate.

5. Become a Bookworm
When at uni working hard for that all important degree, for those of you that, like me, love delving into a good book, it sometimes makes it that bit more difficult to read as often as you would usually like. Having time between completing you degree and finding work is the perfect opportunity to get back into reading. Trust me when I say that when you begin reading again, you might find that you can’t stop. Whether you decide to return to books you haven’t read for a few years, or if you are discovering new adventures and characters, getting stuck into a good novel is a great way to spend your new found freedom.

4. Find a New Hobby
Or continue a hobby you may not have had time to undertake during your studies, the possibilities are endless with this one. Sports, outdoor activities travelling, visiting places old and new to you; take a leap and try something new. You have all the time in the world, between applying for jobs, of course.

3. Write, Blog, Whatever, Be Creative!
I have always loved writing, hence the ambition to be a music or film journalist, and having all this free time for the past 10 months has given me the chance to write as whenever I please, primarily on this very blog. If you have had experience in writing or blogging before, or if it is completely new to you, why not give it a go, it’s a free activity, you can write about absolutely anything in the world. The writing world is your oyster. It not only passes the time, but also keeps your brain engaged. Benefits all round!

2. Escape to a Galaxy Far, Far Away…
No, I’m not saying that you have to watch Star Wars, but if you have a list of films you have desperately been wanting to watch, or even re watch, then I would say the time between finishing university and getting your first job is the best opportunity you can get. When the weather isn’t that great either, so no exploring old and new can be done, then watching a good film will give you something to do on a rainy day, and it really does make the time go by on those many days of boredom during your time in unemployment. Another plus, I’ve found sticking on a DVD in the background while searching for jobs makes job hunting that bit less boring.

1. Make a Time For Those That Matter
When you have been at university for three years, particularly if you have lived away for your studies you might have not had as much time to spend quality time with your family and friends. Use the spare time you have while looking for work to make up for lost time. Days out, nights out, various gatherings and get togethers to make up for some of the occasions you may have missed while you were busy studying. New memories will be made, and you will reconnect with the people that mean the most to you. Of course, don’t forget to stay in touch with the friends you made at university.

It can be a stressful time being an unemployed graduate, but if you make the most of the time you have to spare, you will be making the best out of a negative situation, which will, hopefully, make you feel that bit better while job hunting.

4 thoughts on “Diary of an Unemployed Graduate – Day 190

  1. Has there been any positive feedback on the job front since you last blogged. Any interviews in the pipeline ? Any telephone replies ? Any email replies ?

  2. I’ve had some positive feedback from a job that I applied to a while ago. I’m currently in the process of seeing how it goes, but I don’t want to say too much as I don’t want to tempt fate! I will most likely write about it in the coming weeks, however it turns out ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I am planning on catching up on TV shows and seeing some Uni friends once my dissertation is handed in next Wednesday. It will be nice to have some free time again. You suggested writing a blog and because I want to work in journalism I was thinking of doing exactly that, would you recommend using wordpress?

    I have somehow found time to apply for a few internships and work experience so fingers crossed, although from the lack of response you have had from the industry I am not holding out hope.

    I am looking forward to catching up with friends from home after Uni but as you are graduate I was just wondering, have you found it hard to meet up with Uni friends, as after Uni everyone gets scattered across the country?

    I hope you find work soon I am sure there is something out there even if its just an internship for a few months or even just working in a shop. You had any luck since your last posts? I know some of my friends are just going to make their part time jobs their full time jobs but I really want to get my foot in the door with Journalism and I am sure one day you will too.

    Katie.

    1. Catching up on TV programmes is a great way to spend time after finishing uni. So simple, but sometimes needed after all of that hard work! I would definitely recommend WordPress if you’re thinking of starting your own blog. I’ve tried other blog websites but none of them really worked out for me, but WordPress has been really good to use in the year that I’ve been using it.

      It’s really good that you have been applying for internships, I hope that something comes up for you! It is hard but keep persevering and you will get there in the end ๐Ÿ™‚

      It is quite difficult to keep in contact with friends from uni, as you said if you have friends that live far away from you, it does make it that bit harder. Although I haven’t really been able to meet up properly with my old friends since we graduated, having only seen them at our graduation ceremony back in November, but social media has really helped staying in contact with them. As much as people moan about things such as Facebook, it does have its uses when you want to stay in contact with people that live far away from you!

      I am going to be writing a post on here, most likely tonight, about what has been going on in the past few weeks with regards to my job search, but I am still unfortunately looking for work. The fun never stops! Good luck with your ambitions in becoming a journalist, its a difficult field to get into, but just keep getting as much experience as you possibly can and you will get there eventually. Thank you so much for reading and commenting, if you need anymore advice then feel free to comment again ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

