Diary of an Unemployed Graduate

Diary of an Unemployed Graduate – Day 202

A couple of you have been asking me what I’ve been up to with regards to job hunting in the past few weeks, and I have been a bit quiet about this as I was in the process of something possibly happening, and I didn’t want to tempt fate by writing about it on here, just incase. Finally now though I can tell you about it, and give you a little bit of an update in what has been going on in my life as a job seeker for the past couple of weeks.

Basically, I had an interview for a job just over two weeks ago, on Tuesday 18th March. It was for a social media and marketing fundraising assistant position at a hospice that’s about an hour or so away from where I live. I heard about it from my step mum, who received an email about jobs in the charity sector as she used to work for another charity that’s local to where we live. She thought the position sounded perfect for me, sent me over the job advertisement, and I loved the sound of it immediately. I applied for it as soon as she emailed the advert to me, spending a good two hours filling out the application form. Once that was all done, I sent it off to the recruitment email address, and in all honesty I let it slip from my mind, particularly when the application closing date of 6th March came and went and I heard nothing. I didn’t expect great things from it from the start, so I wasn’t at all expecting to hear back from them on the 11th March, inviting me to come to an interview at their offices the following week.

My interview was on Tuesday 18th March, so I had plenty of time to get myself organised, learn some things about the charity and its cause, and prepare myself for going through the interview process once more. When push came to shove, the interview went as well as it could have. I was quite nervous, as to be expected, mainly due to the fact that I was really interested in the position and, to be honest, I really wanted to get the job. Before the actual interview, I had to do a proof reading and short writing test, so it was quite a long process, and a nerve wracking day. When I left the offices, I felt a little bit positive, but I just had this feeling in the pit of my stomach that it hadn’t had gone as well as I would have liked. I kind of put it to the back of my mind, as there is nothing worse than waiting to hear back from a job and having it completely occupy every single thought you have, so I tried to get on with things and not think about it. Emphasis on the word tried there. I didn’t have to wait long though to hear back from them, as just two days later (Thursday 20th March), I received another email from the charity, informing me that they had been very impressed with my interview, and would like me to come back to their offices for a second interview the following week. Success! Never in my ten months of being unemployed after graduating from university had I been invited to come to an interview, and then been asked to come back for a second interview. It wasn’t even going to be a proper interview in the sense of the word as it had been the first time round; it was an opportunity for me to have a tour around the offices and the hospice, get to know the location that bit better, as well as to meet and get to know all of the team that is already working there.

Once again, I had a week to prepare for it, but most of all it was just trying to relax about the whole situation. The prospect of meeting the whole team, which I have never done before, is quite a scary prospect. The day came and went, I tried my very best to be myself, stay calm and do a good job to hopefully be offered the job. I found out on the day that it was between me and one other candidate that had got to the final two, out of the six that had been interviewed a week earlier. That scared me and excited me; scared me in that I didn’t want to lose out to the other person that I was up against, but excited me in that I had never got this far before on a job that I had applied for. Although I was trying to remain positive throughout the time I was there for the second interview, but I couldn’t shift this thought in the back of my mind that I wasn’t going to be successful. This thought wasn’t helped when I left the offices at the end of the interview, and as I left I saw the other candidate being welcomed to the offices as I had been a few hours earlier. I tried to remain a little bit positive, and despite my family, boyfriend and two of my closest friends telling me that it sounded like I was in with a good chance of possibly getting it, I still couldn’t shift that real feeling of negativity that kept making its presence known in my mind.

It would seem though that the negativity I had had throughout the interview day and for the rest of the day when I was sat at home, was some kind of intuition. The next day (Friday 28th March), I was in the job centre very early for my sign on appointment. As I was waiting as my advisor had overrun on times and was still seeing the customer with the appointment before me, I had the sudden urge to check my emails. I checked my emails, and found an email from the hospice, telling me that I had been unsuccessful, and the other candidate had been offered the position over me. Needless to say, I was completely crushed. I spent my entire job centre appointment, as well as the whole walk home, desperately trying not to cry. It didn’t last long, and literally as soon as I walked through the front door, I burst into tears. It wasn’t the same disappointment that I had felt about the other job that I had come close to getting a few weeks ago that I wrote about in a previous post on here, but in a way it was almost worse. Maybe because I’d had the feeling since the first interview that I wasn’t going to get it, maybe because I had felt negative the entire time I was there for both my first and second interview, but whatever it was, I felt more crushed about not getting this job than I had with any others I had been turned down from.

So, yet again, it’s back to square one, for what feels like the millionth time. I’m sorry I have rambled on quite a lot in this post, but I just wanted to get all those feelings out about the whole situation, and give you a really thorough update about my job hunt, as I haven’t done that in quite a while. I will try and write another post on here very soon with whatever developments may or may not occurred in that time. Now, if you don’t mind me, I have some job searching to get back to. Oh, the fun never stops for a job seeker!

3 thoughts on “Diary of an Unemployed Graduate – Day 202

  1. We’ll that was as near a miss as you can get !
    Do you keep in contact with your fellow students who were on the same university course as you and left at the same time ? What are they doing and are they having the same problems as you getting in to the creative industry ?

    1. I keep in contact with pretty much all of my university friends, a lot of them have gone into teaching and have all done well to get to where they want to be, but my friends who are also trying to get into the creative industry are having similar problems. It’s terrible that nearly a year out of uni some of us are still struggling, but it’s nice to know that you aren’t the only one in that position.

  2. I am very sorry to hear that you didn’t get the job that you wanted. It’s hard, but don’t take it personally. Rejection sucks but it means there is something much better around the corner! I have been in your position and I understand how you feel. How are you applying for jobs? Are you signed up to any recruitment agencies? If you would like some help and advice and maybe for me to put you in touch with some recruiters and relevant industry people then please get in touch. I would be more than happy to help.

Leave a Reply

