Books · Films · Thoughts.

Things To Look Forward To In 2014

Somehow, it’s already May. I would really like to know where the past four months of 2014 have gone, they seem to have completely disappeared before our eyes. The other day I realised that it’s around this time of year, when we are coming into the summer months, where some amazing things are going to be released, particularly in the book and film departments. Being a huge film fan and avid reader, there are a lot of new releases that are coming up in the next few months that I cannot wait to get my hands on. So, here are my personal favourite things that I’m looking forward to for the next few months of 2014.

Book: You’re The One That I Want by Giovanna Fletcher (22nd May 2014)
When I found out that Giovanna Fletcher had written a second book that was to be published, I could barely contain my excitement. Her first book, Billy and Me, which was released in May 2013, was such a brilliant book that I couldn’t put it down, and I finished reading it within a matter of days. I have a feeling that it may be the sane case with her upcoming second novel, You’re The One That I Want. Her characters have such depth and emotion to them; they don’t feel like characters that only exist in words on a page, but rather they feel like people that you would know in real life. I’m so excited to get to know more of her amazing characters and the stories they have to tell, and it goes without saying that I will be making a trip to Waterstones on 22nd May.

Book: Shopaholic To The Stars by Sophie Kinsella (Release Date TBA)
No exaggeration, I nearly dropped my iPad in excitement when I read on Facebook that Sophie Kinsella, who is one of my favourite authors, has written a seventh instalment in the Shopaholic series. I am behind excited to read more of the hilarious goings on in Becky Bloomwood’s life, and find out how her and the rest of the characters I’ve grown to love over the past six books are getting on. I finished reading the books in the series around this time last year, and when reading the last page of Mini Shopaholic, a sense of sadness came over me. I didn’t feel ready to let go and say goodbye to the characters I had grown to love so much, so to get to be drawn into their world once more makes me a very happy reader. Sophie Kinsella is a brilliant writer and I have no doubt in my mind that this book will be as amazing as the others. Bring on the Autumn!

Film: Godzilla – directed by Gareth Edwards (15th May 2014)
2014 seems to be the year for brilliant films. So many have already been released in the past few months, and the summer is set for even more to hit our cinemas. May sees one of the first summer blockbusters being released, a brand new adaptation of the classic Japanese monster, Godzilla. From the second I first saw the trailer back in January/February time, I was desperate to see it. It just looks completely amazing. I have a feeling it’s going to be a film that divides critics for the fact it’s an adaptation of a classic figure, but for me personally, I think I’m going to love it. It looks action packed, full of tension and suspense, it has a classic monster that fascinates and terrifies people, what more could you want from a film? It’s now just over a week until Godzilla storms into cinemas here in the UK as well as countries all over the world, and I definitely think a trip to the cinema will be made that following weekend.

Film: Maleficent – directed by Robert Stromberg (28th May 2014)
I’ve been a little bit obsessed with the impending release of Maleficent since I saw the first trailer for it in January, and now the date for it being released in cinemas is nearly upon us my obsession is at an all time high. Sleeping Beauty has been one of my favourite Disney films since I was a child, and in all honesty, the villainess Maleficent gave me numerous nightmares when growing up. She still gives me the creeps now if I’m being completely truthful! This kind of prequel to the events of the classic Disney film will do for Maleficent what the book and subsequent musical Wicked did for the Wicked Witch of The Wizard of Oz; showing audiences that her evil nature may have come from elsewhere, perhaps even from trying to good. From the trailer, the film looks utterly amazing. You can already tell that the uttermost care has been taken to ensure they remain true to the original, in terms of characters and the general look and feel of the film. I can already tell that I’m going to completely blown away, and I am really looking forward to taking a trip to the cinema when Maleficent is released.

Film: The Fault In Our Stars – directed by Josh Boone (19th June 2014)
I’ve personally left the best till last. Words cannot describe how euphorically excited I am about the film adaptation of John Green’s best selling novel, The Fault In Our Stars, being released at last. I fell head over heels in love with the book when I read it around Christmas last year, it’s one of my favourite books, I think I’ve written about it twice before on my blog, and I’ve been counting down the days till the film was released since I found out a film had been made. As much as I’m looking forward to it, there is a tiny percentage of me that’s worried it won’t do the book justice as it is just that superb, but from what I’ve seen of the trailer and the newly released extended trailer, I don’t think myself or other fans of the book are going to be left disappointed. It says it all really when I’m left in tears just from watching the trailer, so I dread to think what I’m going to be like watching the whole film in the cinema. Whether you have read the book or not, go and see this film. Even with all of the big blockbusters that are set to be released this summer, The Fault In Our Stars, I can already tell is going to be my film of the year. 19th June cannot come quick enough.

2 thoughts on “Things To Look Forward To In 2014

  1. Did you know that the American actress of your name is appearing in your favourite film adaption

Leave a Reply

