Films

Film Review – Sinister (2012)

As you have more than likely guessed by the title of this post, today I will be writing about Sinister (2012). Now I know I’m a little bit late to the party with this one, as it was released two years ago now, but I saw it for the first time a few weeks ago, and I must say I was not expecting to see what took place in the one hour and 50 minute run. I had read a few reviews in the past before actually having seen it, and while I wasn’t influenced by the reviews I had read, I was slightly worried that, from seeing some negative thoughts from fellow film fans, I would be wasting almost two hours of my life. I’m pleased to say though, that it was not a waste of time in the slightest.

Sinister, in my personal opinion, was one of the most unique, disturbing and mind boggling horror films I’ve ever seen. It’s one of those films where if you’re watching for the first time, you cannot tell where it’s going to take you, or what’s going to happen next. The inability for the audience to have any idea what they’re going to see next adds all the more to the extreme suspense that is already present in the film. I was gripped from the second the film started rolling, and I couldn’t take my eyes off the screen until the credits scrolled across the screen.

There were a lot of moments where I wanted to look away from what was being shown on the screen. This was for a number of reasons; either the suspense was becoming too much to stand, or that the scenes that were taking place in front of my eyes were so disturbing that I couldn’t stand to watch what was unfolding. I won’t go into detail about what happened as I don’t want to give it away for those that may have never seen Sinister, but there are many a moment where you almost feel sick to your stomach with what it is that you’re watching. These scenes truly mess with your mind; it takes a while to get them out of your head, and they really are some of the most disturbing and distressing scenes that I have ever seen in a horror film. During the climatic scenes of Sinister, the scenes become all the more unbearable to watch, and all the more utterly disturbing to watch as all is revealed to what has been going on for the entirety of the film. It is a shocker that is so hard-hitting it takes a good while for you to come to terms with once the film comes to an end. Out of the horror films I’ve watched, I don’t honestly think I’ve been as disturbed by a film as I have with Sinister.

The demonic villain of the film is nothing like I would ever have imagined it to be, and if anything he was far scarier than I would have thought before viewing. While the demon, Baghuul, has been criticised by some for looking a little bit too much like a member of heavy metal band Slipknot, I personally found his appearance and his popping up in various places completely terrifying. Combined with what it is that he influences particular characters to do, for me, Baghuul had got to be one of the creepiest and most disturbing demons I’ve seen in a film. Plus, again I won’t give anything away, what really adds a high level of disturbance to the film is the inclusion of children in the predominant plot line. Any horror film that involves children immediately becomes ten times creepier.

While Sinister may have not drawn in all horror fans, I personally thoroughly enjoyed it, and while it may not be a film I could see myself watching as regularly as I do with other films, due to the disturbing nature of some scenes rather than how much I enjoyed the film, I would most certainly class Sinister as one of my favourite horror films.

3 thoughts on “Film Review – Sinister (2012)

  1. Nice review! Sinister terrified me like no film ever has, I bought it a while ago because it was so brilliant I had to own it but I can’t actually bring myself to rewatch it, ha 😛

    1. Thank you very much! I couldn’t agree with you more there, it’s one of the two films I’ve seen that have had me utterly petrified. Despite this though, I feel the need to keep watching it, very bizarre! I hope you get round to watching it soon, and thank you for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

