Diary of an Unemployed Graduate

Diary of an EMPLOYED Graduate

Yes, you read the title correctly. On Thursday 29th May 2014 I had an interview for a writing job in London that was specifically looking for graduates, and the same day just a few hours after having walked through the door after getting home from the interview, I received an email from said company where they offered me the job to start just a few days later on Monday 2nd June. After just over a year of being out of work after having graduated from university, after months and months and months of sending out CVs and application forms that I never heard back from, and after almost 30 interviews and telephone interviews, as well as most likely an extensive amount of damage to my blood pressure levels through all the stress, I have finally got my foot onto the career ladder and started my career as a writer.

It really is true when people say that when you stop trying so hard to find something, as well as stop making said thing take over your everyday life and your way of thinking, something falls into your lap when you least expect it. In the few days leading up to receiving a phone call from the company I now work for, I had decided to just let go of all the stress and general upset that being unemployed was causing me. It was time to not let it bother me so much anymore, and for me to stop comparing myself to everyone else around me who had all graduated around the same time as I had. In my head, I decided to just accept that when the right job came along, it would happen in it’s own sweet time. I know, I should have had that frame of mind for pretty much the entirety of my time of being a job hunter, but when you’re in the moment and basically everyone you know start to all gradually get some form of employment, it’s hard to keep positive about it all. So there I was with a brand new mindset, that even included me not nearly bursting into tears whenever someone asked me how the job hunt was going, but instead simply just shrugging my shoulders and saying what will be, will be, when all of a sudden, I receive a phone call from a number I didn’t recognise. Having been out of the room at the time and having listened to the voice mail they had left, saying they were a start up business in London that were looking for graduates who had experience in writing, and having seen my CV on the Reed website were really interested in having me in for an interview. I of course rang them back immediately, and an interview was set up for the following morning. Compared to the lead up of other interviews I’ve had, I felt relatively calm throughout the whole day, even holding my nerve on the morning and my train journey to their offices. Despite this sense of calm that appeared to have washed over me, when it came to the actual interview, I’ve never been so nervous during said process. Although I was shaking like a leaf the majority of the time, even more so when I was introduced to the CEO of the company after having been interviewed by the manager, I felt it went smoothly, but as past experience had told me, I didn’t want to get my hopes up.

Once home, I relaxed and tried to ignore the nagging thought in my brain that was trying desperately to get me to think about nothing but the interview, which for the majority of the time, well and truly won. This only lasted for a few hours though, as just roughly about two and a half hours after I’d returned home, I received an email from the company. I convinced myself with a racing heart in the seconds before opening it that I had been unsuccessful in getting the job, so you can imagine my surprise when I opened it, and there, clear as day, the words “We are delighted to invite you to join us as a writer at our company starting on Monday 2nd June 2014”. Needless to say, I lost it. The initial shock soon led into hysterical crying with utter joy and relief; the joy being that I finally had a ‘yes’ after only receiving rejection for such a long period of time, and the relief being that, finally, I was getting somewhere. Working tirelessly at university to get a Bachelor of Arts degree for three years, doing as much voluntary writing and work experience as I possibly could, endlessly applying for jobs that never seemed to be getting anywhere; it all finally paid off. I’m not over-exaggerating here, but I think that moment will be remembered by myself in years to come as one of the best moments of my life.

It’s taken me a while to write this post, I know, and I have already been working for nearly a month, but at the time so much was going on, so many mixed emotions before and after starting, that I just got caught up in it all. I feel incredibly lucky, not just to have found work after such a long time, or that I’m now doing a job I had never even applied for but that the managers had found me rather than me finding them, but that I’m doing a job I’ve worked towards getting since I was about 15. I sometimes still find myself having to pinch myself to remind myself that this is all real, this isn’t just a dream that I’m going to wake up from. I’m doing something I love doing, both as a career and as a hobby, and I don’t think that gets to happen too often for some graduates in the work climate we have today. I would just like to end by saying that, obviously, this post marks the last in my Diary of an Unemployed Graduate series, but to also say that every now and again I will be writing advice articles reflecting on my own experiences. Not just necessarily about looking for work, but certain things in life in general, not because I think I know it all but more that I enjoy writing those types of articles. I will hopefully have one up in a few weeks, so watch this space.

Finally, a message to all you graduates out there, who may have finished university this year and are finding it hard to find work, or if you finished your education last year and are still looking for that right position; don’t give up. It is one of the most stressful, worrying times of your young life, but it does get better, and you will get there in the end. Think positive, don’t get yourself down, keep your head held high, and in the end, you will get that little bit closer to where you want to be.

5 thoughts on “Diary of an EMPLOYED Graduate

  1. Thank god for that ! Was getting worried about you as hadn’t heard from you for a while and your last few blogs were getting more and more stressed with each week.
    Upward and onward to the top of the corporate ladder. And finally was the film as good as you thought it was going to be that you were so excited about ?

    1. Thank you very much! I wanted to write a post a lot earlier than I did but never really found the time to in my first few weeks. I can’t believe even now that the stress is over and that things finally turned out all okay in the end. Yes funnily enough I saw it just the other night, planning to write a review on it on here in a few days hopefully 🙂

Leave a Reply

