Films

Film Review – Maleficent (2014)

A good few weeks ago, I finally saw Maleficent, a film that I’ve been ecstatically excited to see since I first saw the trailer all the way back in January. Within days of the film being released, there I was at the cinema, waiting in complete anticipation. As with all films that I get ridiculously excited about seeing, there was a tiny niggling thought in the back of my mind that was worried I would walk into the screen practically chewing at the bit, but that I would leave utterly devastated that it would have been a complete let down. The relief I felt when the film started and I realised how amazing it was, cannot be described in words.

What ‘Wicked’ did for the Wicked Witch of the West in ‘The Wizard of Oz’, ‘Maleficent’ has done for one of Disney’s most feared villains from the 1959 classic ‘Sleeping Beauty’. The story was original, imaginative, really quite emotional at times which I was not expecting, but most of all it tied in so unbelievably well with the original animated film. The tiniest of details were not ignored; the film makers truly had everything covered. The names of characters, their appearances, main aspects of the plot, even down to exact lines from the Disney classic being replicated in ‘Maleficent’, there was no stone left unturned by those working on the production in making the film a perfect prequel to ‘Sleeping Beauty’.

‘Sleeping Beauty’ has been one of my favourite Disney films for as long as I can remember, which is probably why I was so excited to see what they had done with the prequel. I was so pleased to find that the trailer didn’t give away any of the most exciting scenes of the film; not too much was given away, so much so that it was like seeing a different film to the one that had been advertised, in a good way of course. For the entirety of the film I couldn’t peel my eyes away from the screen. Everything about it was just completely awe inspiring. Not only was the plot innovative, it was capturing. It pulled the audience in, made you feel the emotions the characters were feeling, made you feel as though you were part of the magical world standing before you onscreen. The characters were real, you could understand what they were thinking and feeling, and you got to know them in such a short space of time, a credit really to the various acting talents that starred in the film.

As a life long devoted Disney fan, I have nothing bad to say about ‘Maleficent’. It was a brilliantly made film, well worth a watch for any other Disney lover if adventure, magic, romance and comedy are a mix you like to see blended together. I would highly recommend to all that haven’t as of yet got round to seeing it.

Leave a Reply

