All About Me

My Trip to Amsterdam

Three weeks ago, my best friend and I took a four day city break to Amsterdam. It’s a place I’ve always wanted to visit, and having now seen it all for myself, I can honestly say it is my favourite city I’ve ever had the chance of visiting. As much as I love London, Edinburgh and New York, Amsterdam has completely won me over.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The excitement I felt on Monday 23rd March was like nothing I’ve ever experienced before. Despite the fact we had a 7am flight, meaning a 3am start and leaving the house at half three, I was buzzing with anticipation. From the moment we touched down in Amsterdam and I caught my first glimpse of this incredible city, it completely captured my imagination.

I can find no fault with this city, and I have no doubt in my mind that no matter how many times I visit Amsterdam (because of course I’m already planning on returning), I will never be able to find anything negative in this city of endless canals. The place is like nowhere else I’ve ever been, nor will it ever be like any other destination I travel to in the future.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rich in culture and history from throughout the centuries, the spectacular architecture of old and new moulded so well together makes for one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. There is so much to look at, and although there were times where you would see the same buildings over and over again, there was no chance of my getting bored of the scenery that surrounded me. The endless maze of canals was breath-taking, yet disorientating. The sea of bicycles was a truly unique addition to this already fascinating city.

Although I was only there for three full days, the fourth day spent travelling home, my friend and I managed to jam pack a lot of sight seeing into such a short space of time. We practically walked the entirety of Amsterdam, took in the city from another perspective on a canal cruise, took in some beautiful pieces of art at the Van Gogh museum, took in some interesting albeit slightly bizarre creations at the Stedelijk Museum, visited the Artis Royal Zoo, took a walk through the Red Light District, visited the Sex Museum (just for the fun of it all), as well as going to many shops, markets and restaurants with some of the most amazing food I’ve ever tasted.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There were so many wonderful things we saw in those three short days that if I listed all of them I could be here until Christmas. All of it was so enjoyable that I honestly don’t think I could pick a favourite moment.

One of the many reasons for my longing to visit Amsterdam was to visit the infamous Anne Frank house. Having read the children’s version of her diary when I was eight, and the full version at the age of 14, I was desperate to see the house in which all of events had unfolded in. Unfortunately, on the two occasions we attempted to visit, the queue was far too long, and with our time in the city being limited we couldn’t afford to stand in line for an hour or two. I was disappointed to say the least, but seeing the house itself just from the outside, as well as the Anne Frank statue that stands nearby, was enough to satisfy me for the time being. Even from standing outside the house you could feel the emotion of all that had happened there during World War II.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There was so much to see and do in Amsterdam, and just not enough time to do it all. The city has completely drawn me in and I have a feelings its going to refuse to let go. I can whole heartedly say that Amsterdam is a place that everyone should visit at least once, just to experience it first hand. I know that I will be able to return to Amsterdam for years to come and never will I become bored of this enchanting, mysterious and simply awe inspiring city.

Leave a Reply

