Books · Films

What I’m Looking Forward To

Two blog posts in a week! I think I need to sit down in shock over how productive I’ve been feeling to write. Even more surprising is that this week has been the busiest week at work, so I’ve even surprised myself by writing this on the train rather than falling asleep as I usually do on the journey home.

We are now well and truly in September and I can honestly say that, as much as I love the summer, the time between now and December is my favourite time of the year. I love the changes of the season, I love Autumn, Halloween and Firework Night are just round the corner, my birthday is at the end of September, and of course, Christmas soon comes along in December. There’s lots to look forward to as it is, but in addition to all of this, there’s lots of exciting books, films and music releases that I’m really looking forward to. So here’s my top five things I’m looking forward to for the coming months:

Busted Night Driver album, to be released on 11 November 2016

Ever since Busted announced a reunion tour for earlier this year I’ve been hoping that a new album would soon follow, and today my wish came true. I was a huge Busted fan when I was a teenager, and was absolutely devastated when they split up all the way back in 2005. Seriously, I cried like a baby. I’m over the moon that they’re releasing some new music, and whilst I will always hold their original two albums, the second in particular, very close to my heart, I can’t wait to hear what new stuff they have to offer. Having seen them at the 02 arena in London in May this year and heard some of the new tracks they’ve written, I’m sure it’s going to be a fantastic album.

The Feeling live at The Concorde, Brighton, October 2016

Another music related one, but after following The Feeling and being obsessed with their music for the past eight years, I’m FINALLY going to see them live and I’m beyond excited. Their second album is one of my favourite records of all time, and their music in general always puts a smile on my face and, very stubbornly gets stuck in my head for days on end. I’m seeing them at a really intimate venue in Brighton, and even though there’s still about six weeks to go, I’m counting down the days already.

Girl Online – Going Solo by Zoe Sugg, to be released on 17 November 2016

I’m a regular viewer of Zoe Sugg aka Zoella’s YouTube channel, and whilst I’m not sure whether or not her books are meant for someone whose almost 25-years-old, I really love her books. I’ve become completely involved in the story surrounding Penny and Noah, the two protagonists in the story. When I heard she was releasing a third novel towards the end of the year I was very excited, and I already can’t wait to read what happens next in Penny and Noah’s love story. They’re easy to read, easy to digest, happy go lucky books that are perfect when I fancy a little bit of escapism.

Blair Witch, released in cinemas on 16 September 2016

As a huge fan of horror films in general, and an equally huge fan of the original The Blair Witch Project, I am thrilled that a new Blair Witch film will be coming to the silver screen here in the UK in just a weeks time. I was very, very disappointed by the Blair Witch 2, which was released in 2000, as I felt that it had drifted too far away from its predecessor. Rather than sticking to what had made The Blair Witch Project so great, in my opinion, was completely lost in this sequel, so I’m really hoping that Blair Witch will stay true to the first films roots and be a successful new sequel to the horror film saga.

Bridget Jones’ Baby, released in cinemas on 16 September 2016

This has been another sequel that’s been a long time coming. I honestly don’t think I’ve been this excited about a film since the new Star Wars was released last year. The Bridget Jones films are two of my absolute favourite films of all time, and I’m also a massive fan of the books written by Helen Fielding. Although I was initially a little bit disappointed upon first seeing the trailer that it hadn’t followed the third book released a few years ago, I’m still really looking forward to having Bridget back on the big screen and witnessing what antics she’s got herself into for the third time round.I laughed so much I snorted at the trailer alone, so I’m sure I will be roaring with laughter at the cinema in a few weeks.

Leave a Reply

