All About Me · Thoughts.

Teddy bears

From a young age, the majority of us will have that one favourite teddy bear that we take with us wherever we go. We drag it around the house with us, make sure our parents set up a separate place at the dining table for it, cuddle it as we sleep through the night, and most importantly, we hug it close it us whenever we’re feeling scared or upset.

It’s a natural instinct to do this, and although as we grow older we realise that a teddy bear would be unable to protect us from the monsters under the bed or that were hiding in the wardrobe, as a child, your teddy is the one thing, as well as your parents, that you can rely on to make you feel safe and comforted.

This may sound a bit sad for a now 25-year-old woman to say, but to this day I have a number of bears that sit proudly on my bed each day. They all bare some kind of significance in my life. Whether they were ones bought for me for Christmas or my birthday by my mum many years ago, or if they came from special days out with my boyfriend, they all have a story to tell about where and how I got them. Now whilst I don’t cuddle each and everyone of them each night, and I don’t take them to work with me each day for when things get a little bit stressful, there are times when things get a little bit too much and all that will make me feel better is hugging one of my bears (that is of course unless I’m at my boyfriends or if he’s staying at mine, obviously).

Again, I’ll reiterate that this probably makes me sound like a bit of a weirdo, but I honestly think that even as we get older, if we’re having problems at work or feeling anxious about something in our lives, sometimes all we need to make ourselves feel better is a hug from a teddy bear. Maybe it’s just imprinted in us from when we were younger to feel safer and happier when we cuddle teddy bears, or perhaps it’s the remembering what it was like to be a child, to feel like nothing in the world could hurt you when your teddy was by your side. Who knows, but last night when I was worrying about some things happening in my life at the moment, I hugged one of my bears, and instantly felt safer against the world. 

Leave a Reply

