Christmas

Top Five Favourite Christmas Films

As I’m sat here writing this, I’m tucking into a pack of Terry’s chocolate orange minis whilst watching The Santa Clause. What better time than to write a little post about my favourite Christmas films? So here it is, my top five favourite films to watch over the festive season.

5. The Nightmare Before Christmas

Some people question whether or not the Tim Burton stop-motion animation should be classed as a Christmas film, but for me personally its one of my favourite films to watch at this time of year. As creepy as some of the characters are, its a great story that has humour, Christmas cheer (or attempted Christmas cheer, at least), and to top it all off, a fantastic soundtrack that leaves you with the infamous tunes of This is Halloween, Kidnap the Sandy Claws and What’s This swirling round in your head for days on end. Whilst its an alternative to the usual, feel-good, cheery Christmas genre that most film watchers are used to, its a firm favourite of mine and deserves a place in my top five list. I also use the fact that The Nightmare Before Christmas being largely set in Halloween town, and having a lot of Halloween based characters, as the perfect excuse to watch it from 31st October onwards; the best way to get in the festive spirit in the weeks leading up to December!

4. Serendipity

One that may not be as well known as some of the other films on this list, but I couldn’t put together my favourite Christmas films without including Serendipity. If you enjoy rom-com films with a festive twist, then this is one for you. Its a lovely story about two people who meet by chance in New York on Christmas Eve, The lead female protagonist, played by Kate Beckinsale, is a strong believer in fate, and herself and the male protagonist, played by John Cusack, put out hints into the world that will bring them back together, if fate decides they should be together. A number of years later, despite both being engaged to new people and being weeks away from their respective marriages, they individually go on their own quests to find each other. Its a real feel-good story that will warm the hearts of any film viewer. With the beautiful setting of New York at Christmas, two people on the quest to find one another, and a dash of romance, you can’t go wrong with this Christmas treat.

3. The Santa Clause

As much as I love the two sequels that follow the original 1994 film, the first in The Santa Clause series is without a doubt my favourite of the three. Its a real treat that’s full of laughter, heart warming moments, sugary sweet festive joy and a wonderful story that shows the growing relationship between a formerly distant, divorced father and his young son. You can’t go wrong with this yuletide classic, with a fantastic performance from Tim Allen as the lead character in all three films. The first Santa Clause film in particular always gives me a warm glow inside and gets me really excited for Christmas. As happy as it makes me, the references to believing in Father Christmas and adults losing the ‘magic’ of Christmas always tugs at my heart strings. Its a reminder of how special this time of year is for children, and how magical it was to believe in the man with the bag, the elves in the North Pole, his sleigh and loyal reindeers. One for children and adults alike, it doesn’t feel Christmas without this wonderful classic, and I’m going to make sure its a tradition in my household when I have children of my own one day.

2. The Holiday

Without a doubt the best rom-com film of the season, The Holiday is a classic that really shows the true meaning of Christmas when it comes to love, spending this time of year with the ones that matter most to you, and lending a helping hand to others. It always fills my heart with joy and brings a happy tear to my eye. Despite being the newest film on my list, its a true classic that embraces the holiday spirit and reminds people of what really matters at this time of year. Its not about the presents, its not about how much you can spend on presents for those you love, but rather the people that are in your life. There’s nothing not to love about The Holiday, and its one that I have to watch each and every December. The fact the characters are so relatable, in terms of Kate Winslet’s unrequited love for one of her work colleagues, Cameron Diaz struggling to let someone in after the experience of her parents divorce when she was a child, makes it all the more enjoyable and a wonderful addition to any Christmas film collection.

1. Christmas with the Kranks

Last but by no means least, we have Christmas with the Kranks taking the top spot. I don’t know what it is about this film, but I look forward to watching it every Christmas and its one of the best films to get me into the festive spirit. I love how ridiculously random the storyline is, and the trouble that lead actors Tim Allen and Jamie Lee Curtis find themselves in whilst doing their very best to avoid Christmas whilst their only daughter is away with the peace corps in Peru. The antics they experience are hilarious and will leave audiences gasping for breath, but, similarly to some of the other films I’ve included on my list, it reminds people of the true meaning of Christmas; being with the people you love most in the world. The ending always brings me to tears (which seems to be a common theme with the majority of the films in this list…) and it really warms the cockles, as some people would say. I’ve already watched Christmas with the Kranks once this year, having given it the first viewing of 2016 whilst wrapping presents the other night, but after I didn’t watch it last year (I felt that I’d overdone it in the years before, and wanted to give it a bit of a break, so as to avoid getting bored of it) I was reminded of how much I love it, so there’s definitely going to have to be a re-watch in the lead up to the big day.

So there you have it, my top five favourite Christmas films! I hope you enjoyed this post and that its made you feel a little bit Christmassy if you haven’t felt the festive spirit just yet. If you’re still not feeling lovely and festive just yet, then why not go and watch some of the films I’ve listed in this post?

I would also highly recommend these other festive favourites: Home Alone 1 & 2, The Santa Clause 2 & 3, The Muppets Christmas Carol, Elf, The Polar Express and The Family Stone. These are also some of all my time favourites, but I think if I did a top 10 then I would be here writing about them all until next Christmas!! Hope you enjoy them and let me know what your favourites are.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

