Thoughts.

Tackling Anxiety in 2017

A very Happy New Year to you all! How is it possible that it’s 2017 already?! Last year seemed to fly by and I can’t believe that January is upon us already.

With a New Year comes time to reflect on the previous year, and I did spend the first few days thinking back to the many memories I made with those who mean the most to me over the last 12 months.

2016 as a whole was a brilliant year for me, personally. I had some great times with my friends, family and boyfriend, and a lot of happy memories that I will always look back on fondly. In terms of my work life, I feel that last year I came on leaps and bounds in the role that I’d only been in for a couple of months when January 2016 came rolling round. I feel more confident in myself and in the work that I do, and whilst there are times when it can be stressful, and I find myself worrying about things that are going to happen the next day, I feel a lot more settled and content in my work and what I do on a daily basis.

There were times last year though where I felt plagued by anxiety, and where it felt like I couldn’t get out of my own head. Whilst there were moments throughout the year when I felt on edge, the end of April up until the beginning of June was the most anxious I’d felt since I had another big bout of anxiety all the way back in June/July 2015. It really took its toll on me during the spring last year, and it felt like an endless rollercoaster of stress, worry, overthinking and getting overly anxious about anything and everything. During this time it felt like the cycle I’d gotten myself into was never going to end, but, thankfully, it eventually did come to an end, and although I still have my moments from time to time, for the moment I feel a thousand times better, and that I’m improving on a weekly basis. Fingers crossed this lasts!

I know that a lot of people suffer at times with anxiety, especially in the blogging community, as writing seems to be a really therapeutic and helpful way of releasing some of the tension around feeling anxious, which is why I thought I’d write this post to let people know that everyone can get through a bad patch, no matter how big or small it may be.

When anxiety takes its hold, it might be difficult for some people to continue with their everyday lives and to have some kind of normality on your day to day basis. As hard as it may be at times, carrying on with your everyday life, doing the things that you enjoy, seeing the people you love being around, just doing whatever it is you love doing, you will be taking some control over your anxiety, and at the same time, you’ll also be helping yourself to heal by showing the demons in your head whose boss.

Obviously, this is easier said than done, but from experience, it really does make all the difference in the world to your mental health if you try your best to carry on as normal as you possibly can. It’s a big challenge, an overwhelming one for many, including myself at times, but maybe with the new year will come the inspiration and courage you need to achieve this. So why not give it a go? It may take some time, I’m most certainly not saying that it will happen overnight, but the only way that change can happen is if you try, and the only person responsible for change in your personal life, is you. 

 

Leave a Reply

